🦉 Issue #35: New Year, New Format

I need to make some changes.

As the confetti settles and we step into the fresh pages of 2024, it's time for some reflection and, yeah, a bit of reinvention.

So, I've been doing some thinking–dangerous, I know–and I've decided it's time for a shake-up with Creative AI Digest.

A joyous 20PY to you and yours!

Switching to Monthly: First off, I'm hitting the brakes on the weekly rush. We're going monthly. Why? Simple. I want to dive deeper, swim in the big ideas. Sure, anyone can churn out weekly snippets on AI–AI can do that–but I'm aiming to bring you something meatier, something with a bit more substance.

🔔 Look for the first rebooted issue before the end of this month!

Substance Over Surface: I'm zeroing in on the meatier, more consequential facets of AI. Forget the latest AI tool hype–you've got the entire internet for that. Here, it's going to be all about unique insights, the kind you won't find just lying around.

No More Referral Spreadsheet Updates: To the small crowd involved, just a heads-up: I'm dropping the referral bonus updates. The spreadsheet will remain for your reference.

The Lighthouse Approach: My friend Joanna Penn hit the nail on the head with this lighthouse metaphor (props to Anne Lamott). I'm done lighting little fires everywhere. No more scurrying around for attention. From now on, Creative AI Digest is a lighthouse, standing firm and shining bright.

Paid ads, social media antics–they're out. This year, it's all about being that beacon, writing to sort through this whirlwind of a world, and trusting that my words will reach the right shores.

Marketing? Nah, Just Good Ol' Writing: Lastly, I'm tossing the traditional marketing playbook out the window. No more premium memberships, no more site sponsorships, no more social media hustling. It looks like the only platform that makes any difference these days is TikTok, and I have no interest in being on it.

This is how I look every morning, according to ChatGPT.

If my writing strikes a chord, feel free to buy me a coffee as a token of appreciation. But that's it. No frills, no gimmicks.

To wrap it up, I'm stoked about this new direction for Creative AI Digest. Its amazing to think that ChatGPT 4 hasn’t even been out for a year. We’re still early, and I remain optimistic that eventually AI will improve our lives even if it isn’t in the ways we think it will be.

Life isn’t predictable. It wouldn’t be fun if it was.

✨ J. Thorn Public Appearances

If you’re interested in hearing me speak, present, or pontificate on a panel, check out my speaking schedule.

Note: ”Upcoming” gigs are linked to the event site, while “Past” gigs are linked to replays, where available.

Upcoming

✅ Author Alchemy Summit ('24) February 22-25, 2024 - Portland, Oregon

✅ South by Southwest ('24), March 8-16, 2024 - Austin, Texas

✅ Idaho Writers Conference ('24) April 11-13, 2024 - Boise, Idaho

✅ Author Nation Live ('24) November 11-15, 2024 - Las Vegas, Nevada

Past

✅ Creator Economy Expo ('23), Cleveland, Ohio

✅ NFT-NYC ('23), New York, New York

✅ StokerCon (‘23) Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

✅ Cincinnati AI for Humans (October 2023) Cincinnati, Ohio

✅ Fiction Marketing Academy Summit (October 2023) Online

✅ 20Books Vegas ('23) Las Vegas, Nevada

DISCLAIMER:

Nothing in this newsletter should be considered financial, medical, marital, or advice of any kind. But we can still be friends.I can feel it coming in the air tonight.